Giving Things a Second Chance…

I am pretty good at giving second chances…whether is to people, foods, places…whatever. I might voice my opinion very strongly at the time but usually I will give second chance if it is reasonable. Sometimes giving “things” a second chance has been a good thing.

So, today after being out and about for several hours…I came home very tired. After drinking lots of water thinking that maybe that will help I decided to watch part of a movie. I wanted something very light so as I was browsing for a movie to fit my criteria- I just didn’t see anything that did.

Then I thought lets watch something I have already seen…as I was browsing the list of movies… I saw the movie Julie & Julia. If you don’t know about the movie Julie & Julia – here is a quickie “The film contrasts the life of chef Julia Child in the early years of her culinary career with the life of young New Yorker Julie Powell, who aspires to cook all 524 recipes in Child’s cookbook in 365 days, a challenge she described on her popular blog that would make her a published author.”

Here is the long version.

When I first watched it in the theaters I remembered that the story was cute and inspiring but not something I might want to watch again.

But today as I was watching Julie & Julia-I really enjoyed it. I don’t know if it was about a woman living in New York City, cooking in a small kitchen, making some delicious dishes, blogging, worrying about her career, wanting to be a writer… So many things that seemed to fit with me.

Here is a transcript from Julie’s blog describing a bit of Julia Child:

Julia Child began learning to cook when she was thirty-seven years
old. She started because she wanted to feed her husband Paul. She
started because though she’d fallen in love with great food late, when
she did she’d fallen hard. She started because she was in Paris. She
started because she didn’t know what else to do.

Who knows how it happens, how you come upon your essential gift? For
this was hers. Not the cooking itself so much – lots of people cook
better than Julia. Not even the recipes – others can write recipes.
What was Julia’s true gift, then? She certainly had enormous energy,
and that was a sort of gift, if a genetic one – perhaps the one thing
about her you can pin down on the luck of the draw. She was a great
teacher, certainly – funny, and generous, and enthusiastic, with so
much overbrimming confidence that she had nothing to do with the
surplus but start doling it out to others. But she also had a great
gift for learning. Perhaps that was the talent she discovered in
herself at the age of 37, at the Cordon Bleu School in Paris – the
thirst to keep finding out, the openness to experience that makes life
worth living.

I loved this.

Now, I don’t know if I have more things in common with Julie or Julia!

Sometimes at different stages in life…you appreciate the things that you didn’t like before. Give things a second chance- they might surprise you.

One Comment on “Giving Things a Second Chance…”

  1. rauthi says:

    i loved that movie too, since i like cooking as well.


Leave a Reply

